ToToTEK.COM Forum Index ToToTEK.COM
Help & Support Forum
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

If you find any SPAM or any problem from the forum, please PM Tomy. Thanks.


Megacart compatibility with Wondermega?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ToToTEK.COM Forum Index -> Evermind Genesis Megacart
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
fonzie



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Mon Sep 03, 2007 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok.
Altima, Skull sent me a Wondermega (JAP) bios some weeks ago.
It may let you to play Japanese games on your USA wondermega/xeye...

So, do you have a megacart ready + japanese megacd game + usa xeye for some testing?

Thx a lot

Fonz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
altima1994



Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 5:28 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes. I have Megacart (i think it has the latest firmware), 3x3 Eyes Jap SegaCD game, and of course US X'Eyes. I used to test this game a while ago, it fired up ok with MegaCart, but audio get distorted, and it hold true for all other Jap games as well. If you walk me through, I am willing to do some testing again with 'em. It would be awesome if you would be able to fix the audio issue, so it does have 100% compatibilty with US JVC X'eyes, hopefully in the coming weeks or so. Thanks.

Alt. ^_^
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonzie



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 7:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, thx. I PMed you Smile Just take a look Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ruger



Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Wed Sep 05, 2007 11:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Any news on the Wondermega support? Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
altima1994



Joined: 12 Jan 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Sep 12, 2007 1:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm now that my US JVC X'Eyes works flawlessly with WonderMega BIOS v.2.0. The audio glitches went away for good. Thanks Fonz for sending me the BIOS.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonzie



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Great, thx for taking time Skullmonkey and Altima.

So now, you can play JAP games on USA xeye.

However, you will probably never be able to play USA games on JAP xeye as a bios dump of the USA machine would be required (and so far, the bios is not dumpable from the megacart :/ ). Stay tunned...
Nobody have a usa xeye with segacd's link cable?

I'll update the page soon, with the new bios set.
Btw altima : You played a lot with the megacart on your xeye? Saves are working, never crashed?

See ya and thx again!

Fonz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ruger



Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 7:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fonzi, regarding the US X'Eye BIOS....
fonzie wrote:
Actualy, when using the dumping function, the file is "hiddenly" copied to the flash.. and when you do "receive 24Meg", you get a 3MB file which contain the dumped bios...

Just to doublecheck: Anyone with a Megacart and an US X'Eye could do this and send you the 3MByte file?
And that US X'Eye BIOS would probably make it possible to run US discs on a JPN Wondermega?

altima1994: Would you consider testing if above trick works?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonzie



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Actually, It seems that the Xeye have a protection against bios dumping... Because the megacart can dump my megacd2 bios (well, it work for me) but one guy with usa Xeye couldn't do it...

Quote:
And that US X'Eye BIOS would probably make it possible to run US discs on a JPN Wondermega?

Yes, there is a high probability.

The only solution I can see (assuming that all the Xeye have same behaviour) remain the transfer cable...

I'll keep you updated, More to know soon Smile
Btw : Skull, i've answered your email one week ago, I hope you received it Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
otakujohn



Joined: 16 Dec 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Dec 16, 2007 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is a pretty great thread. Wink

I have recently acquired a Japanese Wondermega system so I am very interested to know what I need to do in order to get US Sega CD titles to load on it.
One thing that could pose a problem is the fact that it is an original Sega Wondermega with the motorized lid exactly like the one shown here:
http://www.segagagadomain.com/hardware-mega/wonder1.htm
I'll pretty much do whatever it takes to help out in making this work if it's at all possible.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonzie



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 11:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello Smile

As you may have read... the megacart will work on your wondermega, but with crazy audio noises and probable instability (making games unplayable).

I'm trying to get a USA xeye bios dumped... So you might be able to play any USA games on your Japanese Wondermega.

For those who want to play Japanese games on their USA xeye, it is possible, just PM me... The inverse is not possible yet.

.....................
So yeah, anybody with a transfer cable and a USA Xeye should PM me ^^ Very Happy


See ya and thx for your interest.
PS : Things are quite slow, because megacd is "rare", people with usa xeye is rarer and people with usa xeye + transfer cable is even rarer Wink
I had two contacts that could dump the stuff for me ... but they are hard dealers, seems ^^

Fonz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ruger



Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I really want this done. I would be happy to make the cable and send it free of charge to a helpful X'Eye owner....
Anyone who can help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonzie



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 8:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Got the bios... I'll release the xeye stuff soon! Smile
Thx everyone!

Fonz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Skullmonkey



Joined: 11 Apr 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 2:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fonzie wrote:
Got the bios... I'll release the xeye stuff soon! Smile
Thx everyone!

Fonz


Hey there Fonzie, is this the great news that I hope it is? Do you actually have a copy of the USA Xeye bios now? Can you please let me know if this is the case as soon as possible, as I have an ebay auction that ends in 1d11h for a US Xeye. I won't bother to bid on it if you already have a bios that we may be able to use.

My email address hasn't changed, so if you need to test it out, don't feel shy about sending a copy and I will happily test it for you.

Cheers,
Skull.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ruger



Joined: 03 Jan 2007
Posts: 87

PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 6:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fonzie wrote:
Got the bios... I'll release the xeye stuff soon! Smile

Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
fonzie



Joined: 22 May 2004
Posts: 95

PostPosted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Got the bios... I'll release the xeye stuff soon! Smile

As written, I have the xeye usa bios, I confirm.... Tomy dumped it for us.
See you soon, thx for the interest!

PS : skull, I hope you did not buy the xeye Very Happy I'm sorry, I thought it was written crystal clear that I got the Xeye bios.

Happy new year Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ToToTEK.COM Forum Index -> Evermind Genesis Megacart All times are GMT
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You can attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2011 phpBB Group